Kampot, the 12th Mine-Free Province under STP-MA

Kampot is another province to achieve the mine-free status thanks to the Prime Minister Samdech Techo Hun Sen’s Project for Mine Action (STP-MA) under “Providing Safe Ground, Creating smile” motto.

The declaration of Kampot as a mine-free province was held at the provincial hall this morning under the presidency of H.E. Cham Prasidh, Senior Minister and Minister of Industry, Science, Technology and Innovation.

According to H.E. Ly Thuch, Senior Minister and First Vice President of the Cambodian Mine Action and Victim Assistance Authority (CMAA), Kampot is the 12th mine-free province in Cambodia under the STP-MA, and the other eleven include Stung Treng, Kep, Prey Veng, Preah Sihanouk, Thbong Khmum, Kampong Cham, Svay Rieng, Kampong Chhnang, Kandal and Takeo provinces, and Phnom Penh capital.

A total of 4,553 anti-personnel landmines, 11 anti-tank mines and 28,872 UXO on an area of almost 25,666,141 square metres or 252 mine fields have been so far found and destroyed by the Cambodian Mine Action Centre (CMAC), National Centre for Peacekeeping Forces, Mines and Explosive Remnants of War Clearance (NPMEC), and HALO Trust, he pointed out.

As of the first three months of 2023, some 2,579 square kilometres have been cleared from landmine and UXOs, and about 76 percent of which is used for agricultural activities to contribute to poverty reduction and development in Cambodia.

Cambodia still has nearly three years left to achieve its mine-free goal by 2025.

Source: Agence Kampuchea Presse