More than 50 Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) students are taking the initiative to distribute over 1,000 Jalur Gemilang at places of public interest around Kuala Lumpur on Saturday in conjunction with Malaysia Day.

UPM Student Representative Council vice-president Umairah Farisah Ahmad Yuzri said the locations will include Masjid Jamek and Bukit Bintang, with students sharing unity-themed messages and singing patriotic songs, such as ‘Jalur Gemilang’, ‘Inilah Barisan Kita’, ‘Saya Anak Malaysia’ and ‘Warisan’.

"This programme is aimed at raising the patriotic spirit and strengthening the bond among students from various classes, courses and backgrounds.

“We want to spread the message that students are also aware of the importance of Malaysia Day, which was declared on Sept 16, 1963, when Malaysians of various races and religions agreed to live peacefully as one under the ‘Malaysian umbrella’,” she told Bernama.

She added that although the current generation of students were born after independence and the formation of Malaysia, their role and those of other youths in charting a future for the nation should not be underestimated.

"Students play an important role in nation building to generate holistic human beings. We can contribute as knowledgeable students, who are active in nation building, engaged in innovations and creating new jobs.

“Malaysia Day sparks the spirit of citizenship among Malaysians. It reminds us that we are part of this nation and have a responsibility to contribute towards its success and harmony.

“Therefore, let us be people who can contribute our energy, time and intelligence for this beloved country of ours,” said the fourth-semester Bachelor of Science Biochemical student.

This year’s Malaysia Day celebration, themed the same as National Day, “Malaysia MADANI: Tekad Perpaduan Penuhi Harapan” (Determination in Unity, Fulfilling Hope) will be held at the Unity Stadium in Petrajaya near Kuching.

Malaysia Day is observed to commemorate the formation of the Federation of Malaysia comprised of Malaya, Sabah and Sarawak on Sept 16, 1963.

Source: BERNAMA News Agency